Native Son Reading Schedule
Native Son by Richard Wright

Term 4 Spring 2018

The novel is divided into three sections or books: “Fear,” “Flight,” and “Fate.” In order to make your reading assignments a bit more manageable, we have divided each book into two reading assignments.

The page numbers below are for the 2005 Harper Perennial Modern Classics edition.

Begin reading each part on the date listed. Have that part completed by the day listed to begin the next part.

******YOU MUST HAVE 5 ANNOTATIONS FOR EACH SECTION!!******

 

(A) Tuesday, April 17           “Fear” Part 1, pp. 3 – 42 (40)
(B) Monday, April 16

 

(A) Monday, April 23           “Fear” Part 2, pp. 42 – 93 (52)
(B) Tuesday, April 24

 

(A) Monday, April 30           “Flight” Part 1, pp. 97 – 184 (88)
(B) Tuesday, May 1

 

(A) Tuesday, May 8           “Flight” Part 2, pp. 184 – 270 (87)
(B) Monday, May 7

 

(A) Monday, May 14          “Fate” Part 1, pp. 273 – 359 (87)
(B) Tuesday, May 15

 

(A) Tuesday, May 22           “Fate” Part 2, pp. 359 – 430 (72)
(B) Monday, May 21

 

******YOU MUST HAVE 5 ANNOTATIONS FOR EACH SECTION!!******

ANNOTATIONS: 

  • Think of annotations as “showing your work” while you read.
    • Ask questions
    • Something that stands out to you and why it stands out
    • Reactions to what you are reading and why you reacted to it
    • Any connections you make to things outside the book or inside the book
    • Any patterns you notice
    • Sometimes writing a few sentences on what you think is happening can help to clarify for you what is going on in the book
    • Marking and responding to things you think are important (Why do you think it is important?)

 

 

Slides: “In Defense of a Loaded Word” Ta-Nehisi Coates

Video: “Ta-Nehisi Coates on why words don’t belong to everyone”

 

PAINTING: BOXER REBELLION (1983) BY JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s